Top of page
Skip to main content
COVID-19 Information: masks are required indoors on PCC campuses and in centers until March 28, 2022. Learn more on the COVID-19 & Updates Page.
PCC Board of Governors recognition

Emeritus Status

The Board of Governors confers Emeritus status on distinguished individuals, retired from the College, to signify honor and respect for outstanding accomplishments and contributions to the College over many years.

This distinction is a tribute to the special relationship that will extend well into the future as the College periodically calls upon the services of these highly regarded colleagues for the benefit of the College community.

Faculty and administrators receiving such an award exemplify the characteristics of ideal community college educators who, through their professional careers at Pima Community College, have contributed significantly to disciplines or services, professional organizations, their campuses, the Central Office, the College district, and the Pima community.

Individuals listed below have achieved Emeritus status through their role as faculty unless otherwise noted.

  • James E. Gibson, Ed.D., Provost, 1991
  • Edward M. Duperret, M.Ed., 1992
  • Leland H. Scott, Ph.D., 1992
  • Henry “Hank” Oyama, M.Ed., Vice President, 1992
  • Robert Longoni, M.A., 1993
  • Jamie Trainer, M.S., 1993
  • Constance Howard, M.S., Dean, 1993
  • Johnas F. Hockaday, Ph.D., Chancellor,1995
  • Max Jules Gottschalk, B.A., 1999
  • Robert D. Jensen, Ed.D., Chancellor, 2003
  • Angela Zerdavis, Ed.D., President and Faculty, 2004
  • Miguel A. Palacios, Ph.D., President, 2004
  • Philip J. Silvers, Ph.D., Assistant Vice Chancellor, 2004
  • Arthur Alberding, Ph.D., 2005

  • Gun Elisabet Bailey, M.A., 2015
  • Guadalupe Castillo, M.A., 2015
  • Anne Franklin, M.A., 2015
  • Richard Fridena, Ph.D., 2015
  • Margaret Fried, M.A., 2015
  • Mary Kay Gilliland, Ph.D., 2015
  • Jo Ann Little, M.Ed., 2015
  • Nancy Wall, M.A., 2015
  • George Welch, M.S., 2015
  • Paul Welsh, Ph.D., 2015
  • Charles A. Land, M.Ed., 2016
  • David V. Stephen, Ph.D., 2016
  • Gustavo Chavez, M.A. 2017
  • Joseph Labuda, M.L.S., 2017
  • Antonio Arroyo, M.S.L.S., 2018
  • Ann Christensen, Ph.D., 2018
  • Margaret K. Files, M.A., 2018
  • Rita Flattley, M.A.Ed., 2018
  • Marty Frailey, M.A.Ed., 2018
  • Tommie Miller, M.C.P, M.A., M.S.W., 2018
  • Stephen Romaniello, B.F.A., 2018
  • Eileen Perry Schwartz, M.M., 2018
  • Rosalia Solórzano, M.A., 2019
Back to main content Back to top